Gorillaz announce new album ‘Humanz’ and share four new tracks

After months of speculation and hyperbole, Gorillaz have announced details of their new studio album, entitled ‘Humanz’.  Due for release April 28th, it’s the group’s first effort for the best part of a decade; their last album, ‘Plastic Beach’, having been released in 2010.  The announcement was made via the group’s Instagram page, each letter of the title having been revealed in a separate post.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

A few hours after the album’s initial announcement, preorder details and a full track-listing were given.  In addition to the usual standard CD and vinyl versions, there’s also a deluxe edition LP + artbook to be snagged for £66 and a signed super deluxe edition spread over fourteen 12″s.  Tempted?  You’ll have to cough up an eye-watering £275.  However, it appears to have already sold out on the US store, so snag one soon if you’re planning to.  There’s also a £13 double CD edition, featuring an extra six tracks on the second disc.

It’s been a busy time for Gorillaz fans recently, what with the recent announcement of the first ever official vinyl reissue of ‘Demon Days’ and the release of the group’s comeback single, ‘Hallelujah Money’ in January.  It’s even more intense now, though, as the band have also shared not just one new track from ‘Humanz’, but four.

The album is slated to feature a wide range of guestspots, including contributions from De La Soul, Danny Brown, Grace Jones, Jehnny Beth and Mavis Staples, amongst a surprisingly large list of others.  ‘Humanz’ will be performed in its entirety live tomorrow night in London, at a currently undisclosed secret venue.  Those preordering the album before 6am GMT tomorrow will be entered into a raffle to win two tickets to the show.  They are free but do come with a compulsory donation of £5 per ticket, with money raised going to the charity The White Helmets.

Track-listing is as follows…

01 Ascension feat. Vince Staples
02 Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
03 Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
04 Momentz feat. De La Soul
05 Submission feat. Danny Brown and Kelela
06 Charger feat. Grace Jones
07 Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
08 Busted and Blue
09 Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10 Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11 Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12 She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13 Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14 We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Listen to the four new singles below and preorder the album here.