Gary Clark Jr. announces new live album

Gary Clark Jr. announces new live album

Texas blues maestro Gary Clark Jr. today announced the impending release of upcoming live album, ‘Live North America 2016.’ The LP will be the lauded guitar-slinger’s second live album, following 2014’s ‘Gary Clark Jr. Live,’ and fourth overall.

‘Live North America 2016’ features performances culled from Clark’s tour behind his last studio LP, ‘The Story of Sonny Boy Slim,’ that attest to the breadth of influences on his distinctive sound, from blues, soul and funk to folk, hip-hop and rock and roll. The set is devoid of overdubs, leaving only the raw power and risk of his heavily improvisational and often mammoth-length live readings of his material.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Thrown into the mix of originals are Jimmy Reed’s ‘Honest I Do’ and Elmore James’ ‘My Baby’s Gone,’ along with a version of Clark’s ‘Shake’ featuring up-and-coming soul singer and fellow Texan Leon Bridges and saxophonist Jeff Dazey 

With the exception of ‘Take Me Down,’ Clark’s contribution to the 2016 film ‘Deepwater Horizon,’ we haven’t heard new music from him since ‘Sonny Boy Slim’ in 2015. For those who haven’t had the electric thrill of seeing these songs performed in their preferred setting, today’s announcement is ample reason for elation.

‘Live North America 2016’ is out March 17th via Warner Bros. Records. Check out a new live video for ‘The Healing’ above in the meantime.

Track-listing is …

  1. The Healing
  2. Our Love
  3. Cold Blooded
  4. When My Train Pulls In
  5. Down To Ride
  6. You Saved Me
  7. Shake (feat. Leon Bridges & Jeff Dazey)
  8. Church I Am
  9. Honest I Do
  10. My Baby’s Gone
  11. Numb
Gary Clark Jr. announces new live album
‘Live North America 2016’ is out March 17th via Warner Bros