The Fleet Foxes are back, after 6 long years in the wilderness.  The band last released music in 2011, with the superb ‘Helplessness Blues’, and after much hinting from the band and speculation from fans, the group have finally announced their third album, ‘Crack-up’.  Set to be released 16th June, the album features classy, minimal artwork and will hit shelves via Nonesuch.

The band have also shared the first single from the album – ‘Third of May / Ōdaigahara’.  The song is classic Fleet Foxes; it’s a five minute surge of tight harmonies, rushing percussion and dancing guitars.  It’s uplifting, exciting and still manages to cover new ground despite being unmistakably the work of the Fleet Foxes.

The band have also announced a clutch of US tour dates to accompany the release of the album, in addition to a handful of international festival dates already confirmed, including a stop off at Latitude festival.  You can preorder the album and see full tour dates here.

Crack-up Tracklist:

1 I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar 6:25

2 Cassius, – 4:50

3 – Naiads, Cassadies 3:11

4 Kept Woman 3:55

5 Third of May / Ōdaigahara 8:48

6 If You Need To, Keep Time on Me 3:31

7 Mearcstapa 4:10

8 On Another Ocean (January / June) 4:23

9 Fool’s Errand 4:48

10 I Should See Memphis 4:44

11 Crack-Up 6:24

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!