King Krule to release documentary, soundtrack and book
King Krule to release documentary, soundtrack and book

King Krule to release documentary, soundtrack and book

This King Krule article was written by Adam Skirving, a GIGsoup contributor. Lead photo by karli evans

South London’s Archy Marshall, better known by the various monikers King Krule, DJ JD Sports, and Edgar The Beatmaker, amongst others, has announced the release of a new multi-media project: ‘A New Place 2 Drown’. A trailer has been released which reveals the release date for the “music and visuals” project as 10th December 2015. ‘A New Place 2 Drown’ marks the first occasion on which Archy will release music under his own name.

A post on King Krule’s official website describes ‘A New Place 2 Drown’ project as; “a new art book that documents Archy and his brother Jack’s lives in south London. It’s be[sic] accompanied by a 12-song soundtrack and 10-minute documentary, both out December 10.” The documentary was directed by Will Robson-Scott, with animations from Benjamin Brooks. A press release for the book states how it; “showcases the poetry and artwork of brothers Jack & Archy Marshall [and] shows the creative process the brothers share as well as their social and home lives in South London. “

This is not the first time Archy has collaborated with his brother Jack Marshall, who has previously provided artwork for Archy’s musical projects: including King Krule’s debut full length release ‘Six Feet Beneath The Moon’. Archy had previously hinted at new music in an instagram post with the cryptic caption “ANP2D coming soon …”

The track-listing for the soundtrack album is:

‘Any God of Yours’


‘Arise Dear Brother’

‘Ammi Ammi’

‘Buffed Sky’

‘Sex With Nobody’

‘Eye’s Drift’

‘The Sea Liner MK 1’

‘Empty Vessels’

‘New Builds’

‘Dull Boys’

‘Thames Water’

‘A New Place 2 Drown’ will be released on December 10th via True Panther/XL Recordings

King Krule to release documentary, soundtrack and book