Sheffield rock titans Def Leppard are set to release a new CD/DVD package encapsulating one of their high velocity performances from their 2016 US tour with Styx, Reo Speedwagon and Tesla.

‘And There Will Be A Next Time…Live In Detroit’  is scheduled to be released to coincide with their spring/summer mammoth 2017 US tour with Poison and Tesla.

It may appear that there’s been a consistent pattern following Leppards’ releases, those being namely live recordings from tours that boast only marginally different setlists to one another. To be precise this marks their 3rd live issue within the past 6 years – Mirrorball (2011) and Viva! Hysteria (2013) both consisted of a 2CD/DVD package; perhaps a little overwhelming by anyone’s standards.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

“I had this idea that we should film one of the shows from the 2016 tour because apart from the ‘Viva Hysteria’ shows, we hadn’t actually had a live performance filmed since 1988,”
front man Joe Elliot said in a press release, as Mirrorball was more a conglomeration of tracks from various concerts over the course of 2008/9.

Credit however, should be given as the band were able to accommodate a studio release in all the hysteria of live releases. 2015 saw the release of the critically acclaimed and successful self titled studio album, debuting on the Billboard 200 at #10 and UK at #11.

Surprisingly the setlist for the album features not only all the inevitable hits from their illustrious 40 year career but also the addition of three new cuts taken from their aforementioned 2015 album (Lets Go, Dangerous & Man Enough); preventing any criticism of simply re-releasing indistinguishable live efforts.

The DVD ultimately gives the viewer the whole spectacle with the whole bombastic stage show in HD; extravagant visuals, lighting and impressive LED screens. Performance-wise Leppard give the impression of a well oiled machine, rolling with the punches track by track. Admittedly there’s nothing truly astonishing about the performance, no exclusive or special renditions of tracks or special guests, more a predictable generic Def Leppard performance; which by no means is bad but would perhaps be better investing the money for the package towards a ticket for one of their shows.

Track listing:
CD Disc 1

  1. Let’s Go
    2. Animal
    3. Let It Go
    4. Dangerous
    5. Foolin’
    6. Love Bites
    7. Armageddon It
    8. Rock On
    9. Man Enough

CD Disc 2

  1. Rocket
    2. Bringin’ on the Heartbreak
    3. Switch 625
    4. Medley: Hysteria/Heroes
    5. Let’s Get Rocked
    6. Pour Some Sugar on Me
    7. Rock of Ages
    8. Photograph


*Same set list as above with bonus features‘And There Will Be A Next Time…Live In Detroit’ is out on February 10, 2017 via Eagle Rock Entertainment

Facebook Comments