San Francisco-based experimental rockers Deerhoof will return with a new album at the end of the summer. Titled ‘Mountain Moves’, the 15-track LP will be released via Joyful Noise Recordings on 8th September.

‘Mountain Moves’ follows 2016’s return to form ‘The Magic’ and will include twelve new songs alongside three cover versions, one of which is a Bob Marley track.

The new album will also feature an interesting selection of guests including former Stereolab vocalist Lætitia Sadier, Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak, Argentinian singer-songwriter Juana Molina, and experimental jazz artist Matana Roberts, among others.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

A press release accompanying the announcement of ‘Mountain Moves’ states that Deerhoof:

…recognize that we are simultaneously living in two worlds, one a maniacal, mainstream monoculture hell-bent on driving humankind into extinction, the other a churning underground teeming with ideas and dogged optimism and the will to thrive and survive. Mountain Moves refutes the former by ecstatically celebrating the latter.

The band also premiered the track ‘I Will Spite Survive’ via left-leaning political news organisation Democracy Now!. In a statement posted on the Democracy Now! website, the four piece, who are known for being politically active on social media, shared their feelings on the current state of global affairs:

In this world of tyrants and CEOs seemingly hellbent on achieving the termination of our species, perhaps the most rebellious thing we could do is not die. Should we survive the global warming, the lack of healthcare, and the bombs, a more humane future may await us. Maligned for shirking their capitalist duty, it is the younger generations we center. Safeguarding our consciences is only part of the daily challenge, since we also need to navigate corporate-owned electronic media which both aids and saps our energies. Fans of Wye Oak will be thrilled (as we were) to hear Jenn Wasner harmonize with Deerhoof singer Satomi Matsuzaki, while fans of Gloria Gaynor, Bee Gees, or The Bobby Fuller Four may detect homage in the lyrics.

The tracklisting for ‘Mountain Moves’ is as follows:

01. Slow Motion Detonation (feat. Juana Molina)
02. Con Sordino
03. I Will Spite Survive (feat. Jenn Wasner)
04. Come Down Here And Say That (feat. Lætitia Sadier)
05. Gracias A La Vida (Violeta Parra Cover)
06. Begin Countdown
07. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You (feat. Awkwafina)
08. Ay That’s Me
09. Palace of the Governors
10. Singalong Junk (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
11. Mountain Moves (feat. Matana Roberts)
12. Freedom Highway (The Staples Singers Cover)
13. Sea Moves (feat. Chad Popple, Devin Hoff)
14. Kokoye
15. Small Axe (Bob Marley Cover)



Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!