Bob Dylan has announced details of a new album, ‘Triplicate’.  As the name suggests, the album is a triple disc set – the very first of Dylan’s 50 year plus career.  ‘Triplicate’ continues to mine the same vein of classic American standards as his previous two albums, 2016’s ‘Fallen Angels’ and 2015’s ‘Shadows In The Night’, making 2012’s ‘Tempest’ his only album of (mostly) original material released this decade.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

‘Triplicate’s’ three discs are all given their own titles, suggesting that ‘Triplicate’ may be best viewed more as a collection of three individual, thematically separate albums than one single album spread over three discs.

Listen to the downtrodden, melancholic shuffle of ‘I Could Have Told You’ above.  The song was first sung by Frank Sinatra and came out when Dylan was only 13, meaning that it certainly would have had a big impact on him as youngster.

‘Triplicate’ comes out on March 31st and will see release on the usual triple CD and vinyl formats, as well as a deluxe numbered triple LP in special packaging.

The track-listing is as follows…

Disc 1 – ‘ Til The Sun Goes Down

Side 1:

1. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans
2. September Of My Years
3. I Could Have Told You
4. Once Upon A Time
5. Stormy Weather

Side 2:

1. This Nearly Was Mine
2. That Old Feeling
3. It Gets Lonely Early
4. My One and Only Love
5. Trade Winds

Disc 2 – Devil Dolls

Side 1:

1. Braggin’
2. As Time Goes By
3. Imagination
4. How Deep Is The Ocean
5. P. S. I Love You

Side 2:

1. The Best Is Yet To Come
2. But Beautiful
3. Here’s That Rainy Day
4. Where Is The One
5. There’s A Flaw In My Flue

Disc 3 – Comin’ Home Late

Side 1:

1. Day In, Day Out
2. I Couldn’t Sleep A Wink Last Night
3. Sentimental Journey
4. Somewhere Along The Way
5. When The World Was Young

Side 2:

1. These Foolish Things
2. You Go To My Head
3. Stardust
4. It’s Funny To Everyone But Me
5. Why Was I Born

Bob Dylan announces new triple album 'Triplicate', shares new song

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!