This Animal Collective article was written by Daniel Kirby, a GIGsoup contributor

After debuting their new album at Baltimore-Washington International Airport last week, Animal Collective have now announced the release date of February 19th next year for their 10th studio LP, ‘Painting With’.

Work on the album began earlier this year when Avey Tare (Dave Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox) and Geologist (Brian Weitz) began exchanging demos with each other online. Their aim was to put together “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material,” according to Portner.

The three first met in Asheville, North Carolina in the spring to put the songs together, and then recorded the album at Hollywood’s EastWest Studios. It will be their first full-length studio album since 2012’s ‘Centipede Hz’.

‘Painting With’ will feature contributions from John Cale of the Velvet Underground and saxophonist Colin Stetson. According to a press release from the bands label, Domino, the LP is reliant to on polyrhythmic beats and modular synths, with references to cubism and Dadaism.

It will be released with three different covers, one for each band member, all of which are painted by Brian DeGraw of Gang Gang Dance. A deluxe LP will also be made available featuring a 7″ containing two non-album tracks, ‘Gnip Gnop’ and ‘Hounds of Bairro’.

The opening track from the album, ‘FloriDada’, can be heard above:

‘Painting With’ tracklisting:

1. FloriDada

2. Hocus Pocus

3. Vertical

4. Lying In The Grass

5. The Burglars

6. Natural Selection

7. Bagels In Kiev

8. On Delay

9. Spilling Guts

10. Summing The Wretch

11. Golden Gal

12. Recycling

Animal Collective announce new LP 'Painting With', share opening track 'FloriDada'

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!