OK Go - "The Writing's On The Wall" amazing new music video - see at http://www.gigsoup.co.uk
OK Go - "The Writing's On The Wall" amazing new music video - see at http://www.gigsoup.co.uk

These guys just don’t do bad music video’s – OK Go ‘The Writing’s on the Wall’

“The Writing’s On The Wall” is the first single from the band’s new album, Hungry Ghosts, which will be released on October 14 by Paracadute via BMG. While the song, which was heard in The Amazing Spider-Man 2, concerns a relationship that may be at its end, the dizzying video, packed with optical illusions that blur the line between reality and imagination, affirms that OK Go is still very much in love with the video-making process. (Their passion for making videos and other cool stuff is what led the White House to ask the band to craft a clip announcing the date of its very first Make Faire, which takes place tomorrow, June 18).

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/34637745″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Directed by Aaron Duffy, OK Go’s Damian Kulash and Bob Partington, “The Writing’s On The Wall” is the first video shot with the yet-to-be-released Panasonic LUMIX GH4, which utilizes 4K video recording technology. Like all of OK Go’s videos, “The Writing’s On The Wall” is a single shot video. However, preparations for that single shot took two months and involved 61 run-throughs. The anamorphic illusions seen on screen are a tip of the hat to artists Felice Varini, Georges Rousse and Dan Tobin-Smith.

The band’s new EP, ‘Upside Out’, is out today. The collection features four original songs from the Hungry Ghosts sessions, including “The Writing’s On The Wall.” OK Go teamed up once again with producer Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT, Tame Impala), recording most of Hungry Ghosts – the band’s first studio album in four years – at his upstate New York studio. Tony Hoffer(Beck, M83, Depeche Mode) produced the track “I Won’t Let You Down” in Los Angeles.

The track-listing for the new EP is as follows…

1.Turn up the radio

2.Writing’s on the wall

3.I won’t let you down

4.The one moment

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook