Debut album 'Fear in Bliss' is released this April 2014 and contains the single 'Devil'
horse thief release new single 'devil' on Bella Union

Introducing Oklahoma’s ‘Horse Thief’

Why did i decide to write about music? Out of all of the possible jobs out there why did i choose this career path? The answer is quite simple. Every now and again you receive a piece of musical brilliance through the post, or via email, that simply knocks you off of your feet. Ladies and gentlemen allow me to introduce you to the quite stunning ‘Horse Thief‘ and their latest single ‘Devil’.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

The range of wonderful hooks, confident percussion and Cameron Neal’s vocals shows real talent. When i tell you that the members of Horse Thief have literally just graduated you’ll be even more impressed with the maturity in their music.

Having only recently signed to Bella Union (who just don’t seem to be releasing any bad music at the moment) the band have now announced the release of ‘Fear In Bliss’, their debut album (out on the 14th April 2014). Horse Thief, originally founded in Denton, TX, moved to Oklahoma City to attend the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma. They discovered the name Horse Thief while looking at a map of local hiking trails and realized the name chimed with the freewheeling feelings their music convey, the band subsequently signed with the Flaming Lips’ management and soon came to the attention of Bella Union. Though ‘Fear In Bliss’ was conceived at Horse Thief’s Oklahoma headquarters the band decided to record the album in LA, “to leave our comfort zone of Oklahoma”, and producer Thom Monahan (Devendra Banhart, Vetiver) has helped the band fuse their renowned stage performance with studio quality.

The over-arching theme to ‘Fear In Bliss’ is “Finding yourself and what you believe in, and finding the comfort in acknowledging fear. I’ve struggled with anxiety and depression which comes out a lot on the new album. But when everything gets rough, I think there’s always a way to fix it. The biggest thing for me is to give comfort to people, to shed light on the truth that someone is feeling the same way as them.”

Somewhat appropriately, having originated in Denton, TX, Horse Thief will be touring with their fellow Dentonians and label mates Midlake throughout February, joining them as special guests on their forthcoming UK / European tour.

Horse Thief are Cameron Neal, Cody Fowler, Alberto Roubert, Zach Zeller and Alex Coleman and their debut LP ‘Fear In Bliss’ will be released 14th April on Bella Union. The track-listing is as follows…

1. Intro
2. I Don’t Mind
3. Human Geographer
4. Devil
5. Holding On
6. Already Dead
7. Little Dust
8. Dead Drum
9. Let It Go
10. Come On
11. Warm Regards
12. Stop (Bonus Song)

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook