Ann announce new single 'Somewhere's Sunshine' and receive Track of the Day award
Ann are Track of the Day

Aan “Somewhere’s Sunshine” : GIGsoup Track of the Day

Aan’s new track ‘Somewhere’s Sunshine’ can’t really be labelled ‘New Music‘ as the single was originally released way back in 2011. However, it is a real showcase for the bands experimental pop and sounds as fresh now as it did back then and is fully deserving of today’s GIGsoup ‘Track of the Day’.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff6600&auto_play=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Aan (based in Portland, Oregon) are about to embark on what you’d expect to be an extremely busy year of promotion and touring (they finished 2013 with a flurry of well received live dates). Their new album ‘Amor Ad Nauseum’, the bands first proper LP, is set for global release (and with a fair wind ‘Global Domination’). Up until now we’ve been teased with the excellent 2010 EP ‘I Could Be Girl For You’ and the equally impressive singles ‘Mystery Life’ and ‘I Don’t Need Love’. However, this long play is well overdue.

Aan (pronounced ‘On’) may not be that well known to us indie fans in the European music community but in parts of the US they’ve been building a steady following, due to their impressive live sets and by self-releasing several CD’s. In fact, it’s somewhat surprising the debut album is only hitting now as the group have been together for a number of years.

The band seem almost embarrassed by comparisons to Animal Collective and Dirty Projectors but they shouldn’t be. The incredible connection between their instrumentation and the quite unique vocals of Bud Wilson offer a worthy comparison and in some cases a little more. Today’s ‘Track of the Day’ is the perfect proof, if required. A mesmerising introduction with simple drums (that beautiful high-hat and bass drum) and then over-laid with a joyous rich vocal performance that at times almost sounds perfectly distorted and out of key (think Speedy Ortiz’s Sadie Dupuis or even the late and great Jeff Buckley).

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff6600&auto_play=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Aan’s blend of discordance and harmony has earned the group touring support with rock legends The Smashing Pumpkins and indie legends Built to Spill. Aan have also performed alongside indie stalwarts like Wye Oak, Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Red Fang, Gardens & Villa, Bosnian rainbows and many others.

The band’s debut record, ‘Amor Ad Nauseum’, will be released on Portland imprint Party Damage on February 4th 2014.  Recorded over two years in various studios and a cabin on the Oregon coast, the album explores themes of the devotion, desire, complacency, loneliness, and desperation.

Aan are Bud Wilson (vocals, guitar), Reese Lawhon (bass), Jon Lewis (drums) and Jeff Bond (guitar).

A full album review will appear soon. In the meantime the full track-listing for ‘Amor Ad Nauseum’ is as follows…

1. Wet and Dripping
2. Spiritual Provisions
3. I Don’t Need Love
4. Loveless Dreams
5. Bubble Bath Bop
6. Wake Me With A Kiss
7. Daylight
8. Somewhere’s Sunshine
9. Weirdo


GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook